Skip to main content

Best AI Training for Wealth Management (2026)

Compare the best AI training for RIAs and wealth management firms in 2026, from Schwab and Stanford to hands-on cohorts. Format, CE, price and fit.

Posted November 5, 2026

Quick answer: For RIA leaders setting strategy, Schwab's Advisor AI in Action with Stanford HAI (invitation-only). For a practical one-day introduction, T3 AI University. For CE-bearing basics, The American College. For your CRM or meeting assistant, its vendor training, such as Salesforce Trailhead or Jump. For firm-wide, hands-on building by advisors and operations staff with a before-and-after measure, Leland.

Leland publishes this list and is one of the options in it. We evaluated every program on the same criteria below, noted where others are stronger, and listed sources at the end.

How we evaluated these programs

  • Hands-on building: do advisors and staff leave with working workflows for meeting prep, follow-ups and paperwork?
  • Live support: is there live instruction and help when people get stuck?
  • Advisory fit: is it built around client service, planning and operations at an advisory firm?
  • Compliance awareness: does it address supervision, recordkeeping and marketing rules?
  • CE: does it carry CFP Board or similar credit?
  • Firm-level rollout and measurement: can the whole firm go through it, and can leaders see what changed?

AI training for wealth management firms at a glance

ProgramFormatCEPrice (public)Best for
Schwab Advisor AI in Action (with Stanford HAI)Multi-day executive program, invitation-onlyNot statedNot listedRIA leaders setting AI strategy
T3 AI UniversityOne in-person day of sessions and live buildsNot statedConference day passA fast, practical introduction
FPA FPAi AuthorityOn-demand library of AI tool demosNot statedMember resourceFPA members just starting out
The American College: AI, Prompt Engineering and Financial PlanningSelf-paced video and quiz1 hour CFP Board CENot listedCE credit while learning to prompt
CFA Institute Data Science for Investment ProfessionalsFive self-paced courses, about 100 hoursCertificateNot listedInvestment and research staff
Salesforce Trailhead: Agentforce Financial ServicesFree self-paced trail, about 5 hoursNoFreeFirms on Financial Services Cloud
Jump webinars and Learning LabsLive webinars and recordingsNoNot listedFirms using an AI meeting assistant
LelandLive expert-led cohorts, TA per person, assessment before and afterNot listedQuoted per transformation buildFirm-wide, hands-on building with proof

Pricing and features verified November 2026.

Why AI training matters for wealth management firms now

Advisors are experimenting, but few firms have built AI into how they work. Schwab's RIA and AI study, released January 2026, found 63% of independent RIAs use AI in some capacity, more than double the 2023 level, but only about one in ten users has fully integrated it into business strategy. Orion's 2026 survey, as reported by InvestmentNews, found about 75% of advisory firms use AI, but only 6% use agentic workflows. Kitces describes the industry as still in a "collective dabbler" stage.

The opportunity is moving from point tools, like a notetaker, to workflows that run across meeting prep, CRM, follow-ups and paperwork, under the supervision your regulators expect.

The 8 best AI training programs for wealth management firms

Schwab Advisor AI in Action: Executive Education for RIA Leaders

Best for: owners and leaders of RIAs that custody with Schwab.

A multi-day, invitation-only program co-developed with Stanford's Institute for Human-Centered AI, covering AI strategy, data readiness, workflow redesign and an implementation roadmap, with Stanford faculty.

  • Strength: Stanford faculty plus a custodian's view of how thousands of RIAs use AI.
  • Limitation: invitation-only and aimed at leaders, so it sets strategy rather than training the staff who do the work.

T3 AI University

Best for: advisors and operations staff who want a practical, no-code introduction.

A one-day, in-person program at the T3 Technology Conference with one-hour sessions, concurrent tracks and live build sessions for beginner and intermediate users.

  • Strength: built around the advisor technology stack by a well-known advisor tech community.
  • Limitation: one day a year, with no follow-through or measurement afterward.

FPA FPAi Authority

Best for: individual CFP professionals and FPA members getting started.

An on-demand library of AI tool demos and how-tos from the Financial Planning Association, launched in January 2026.

  • Strength: a neutral source from a professional association.
  • Limitation: a content library rather than a structured program, which FPA itself describes as a starting point.

The American College: AI, Prompt Engineering and Financial Planning

Best for: advisors who want CE credit while learning to prompt.

A self-paced video course with a quiz, worth one hour of CFP Board CE, covering prompting for marketing and client communication and ethical use.

  • Strength: counts toward CE and addresses ethics.
  • Limitation: about an hour long and limited to prompting.

CFA Institute Data Science for Investment Professionals Certificate

Best for: investment, research and portfolio staff.

Five self-paced online courses, about 100 hours in total, plus an assessment, covering AI and machine learning applied to investing.

  • Strength: a rigorous credential from a respected institution.
  • Limitation: a heavy time commitment aimed at analysts, not client service and operations workflows.

Salesforce Trailhead: Explore Agentforce Financial Services

Best for: firms on Salesforce Financial Services Cloud.

A free, self-paced trail of 14 badges, about five hours, including a module on wealth management with Agentforce.

  • Strength: free and detailed for that platform.
  • Limitation: teaches one vendor's product, so it does not help firms on Wealthbox or Redtail.

Jump webinars and Learning Labs

Best for: firms using Jump, or choosing an AI meeting assistant that goes beyond notes.

Jump is an AI assistant built for financial advisors and used by more than 45,000 of them. It preps meeting briefs, takes notes, syncs to the CRM, drafts follow-ups and prefills onboarding and account-opening paperwork, with recording options and human review built for compliance. Its regular webinars and Learning Labs show firms how to use it, including how to connect Jump to Claude and how a $5 billion RIA built an advisor intelligence layer on it.

  • Strength: covers the whole meeting lifecycle, not just notes, with 40+ integrations including Redtail, Wealthbox, Orion and eMoney, and shows how to extend it with general AI tools.
  • Limitation: centered on Jump's product, so it pairs best with broader training for staff outside client meetings.

Leland

Best for: firms of 30 to 300 people that want advisors and operations staff building on their own work, with proof.

Leland's AI Transformation Platform starts with a 7 minute AI assessment for every employee, moves teams through five levels of expert-led guided builds on function-specific work, then re-assesses to prove what moved. Each person has a dedicated TA, firm leaders get coaching and consulting, and everyone gets a content library of hundreds of demos and blueprints, filterable by department. Cohorts are taught on the tools your firm has approved, which supports supervision and recordkeeping.

  • Strength: advisors and staff leave with working workflows for meeting prep, CRM notes and client follow-ups, and leaders see the before-and-after change.
  • Limitation: CE is not listed, pricing is quoted rather than published, and it is not a wealth-management-only program.

Top AI use cases in wealth management firms

  1. Meeting notes, summaries and CRM updates. Schwab called 2025 "the year of the notetaker."
  2. Client follow-up emails and communications.
  3. Onboarding forms and account servicing paperwork.
  4. Data gathering and document review for tax and financial planning.
  5. Marketing content and prospecting, with compliance review.

What compliance rules apply to AI at advisory firms?

  • SEC exam priorities: the SEC's 2026 priorities include automated tools and their data sources, "AI washing" in marketing, and policies for supervising AI.
  • SEC Marketing Rule: AI-drafted ads, testimonials and performance claims are still subject to Rule 206(4)-1.
  • FINRA: the 2026 Regulatory Oversight Report expects governance, testing before deployment, logging of prompts and outputs, human review and accurate descriptions of AI, and notes that giving staff approved tools plus training reduces off-channel use.
  • Recordkeeping and privacy: AI notetaker outputs and AI-drafted client communications may be books and records, and client data must be protected under Regulation S-P.

How to choose the right AI training for your firm

  1. Start with approved tools. Decide which tools are approved for client data and how outputs are retained.
  2. Train leaders and staff differently. Strategy programs suit owners; hands-on programs suit advisors and operations.
  3. Prioritize real workflows. Ask whether people will leave with meeting prep, CRM and follow-up workflows that fit your supervision process.
  4. Cover CE separately if you need to. A short CE course and a hands-on program can work together.
  5. Measure the change. Baseline every team, then re-assess.

FAQ

What is the best AI training for financial advisors? For strategy, Schwab's program with Stanford if you are invited. For CE, The American College. For hands-on building across a firm, a live cohort program such as Leland.

Do AI courses count for CFP Board CE? Some do, such as The American College's course. Check each provider.

Can advisors use ChatGPT with client data? Only in tools your firm has approved, with supervision and recordkeeping in place, given SEC and FINRA expectations.

What AI tools do advisors use most? AI meeting assistants that prep meetings, write summaries and update the CRM, such as Jump, are the most common starting point.

How long does AI training take for an advisory firm? From a one-hour CE course to about 100 hours for the CFA certificate. A Leland level takes about six weeks: two weeks live, then async.

Sources: Schwab Advisor AI in Action at Stanford HAI, T3 AI University, FPA FPAi Authority, The American College course, CFA Institute data science certificate, Salesforce Trailhead Agentforce Financial Services, Jump webinars and Learning Labs, Schwab RIA and AI study, InvestmentNews on Orion survey, Kitces on the dabbler stage, InvestmentNews on the year of the notetaker, SEC 2026 exam priorities via Akin, FINRA 2026 oversight report via Debevoise. Leland figures from Leland's 2026 program data.

Spotted an error? Email [email protected] and we will fix it. Last correction: none yet.

Find your coach today.

Browse Related Articles